Wellcome to National Portal
পরিবেশ অধিদপ্তর গণপ্রজাতন্ত্রী বাংলাদেশ সরকার
Text size A A A
Color C C C C

সর্ব-শেষ হাল-নাগাদ: ১৭ জুলাই ২০২২

পরিবেশ অধিদপ্তরের সংক্ষিপ্ত ইতিহাস

Environmental conservation is one of the most discussed issues internationally. The existence of life on earth is threatened due amongst other things to climate change as a result of continuous environment pollution. For a long time, environmentalists around the world have tried to focus the attention of world leaders on this and other pressing environmental matters. One of the first internationally collaborative efforts was the Stockholm Conference on Human Environment in 1972. These efforts were given a new impetus in 1992 with the Earth Summit in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. In addition to being affected by global environmental problems, Bangladesh is a victim of local and regional problems. Bangladesh faces many environmental problems both naturally occurring and those caused by humans. The major environmental problems in Bangladesh can be traced to the problems of over-population and poverty. They are: deforestation, deteriorating water quality, natural disasters, land degradation, salinity, unplanned urbanisation, discharge of untreated sewage and industrial wastes, and so on.

The first environmental activities in Bangladesh were taken soon after the Stockholm Conference on Human Environment in 1972. As a follow up action to the Stockholm Conference, the Government of Bangladesh funded, under the aegis of the Department of Public Health Engineering and with a staff level of 27 and after promulgating the Water Pollution Control Ordinance in 1973, a project primarily aimed at water pollution control. In subsequent years, various events took place as described below.

In 1977, Environment Pollution Control Board with 16 members headed by a Member of the Planning Commission and Environment Pollution Control Cell headed by a Director with staff complement of 26 was established. This was followed in 1977 by the establishment of the Environment Pollution Control Project, in 1985 by the establishment of the Department Pollution Control and finally, in 1989 by the restructured and renamed the Department of Environment (the Department) the activities of which are overseen by a Director General. The Department discharges its responsibilities through a head office and six Divisional offices located in Dhaka, Chittagong, Khulna, Bogra, Barisal and Sylhet. Of late, the Government has been set up 21 new offices at district level with the creation of 468 new positions. As a result, the DOE staff has been increased to 1133.

List of the Department Chief:

SL No Name From To
1. Mr. S.H.M. Abul Bashar 28-10-1990 27-02-1991
2. Dr. Kamal Uddin Siddiqui 07-03-1991 10-04-1991
3. Dr. M.A.H.Paramaik 28-04-1991 14-01-1992
4. Mr. Risalat Ahmed 14-01-1992 23-01-1994
5. Syed A.N.M. Wahed 02-04-1994 31-10-1996
6. Saiyd Musharraf Hussain 18-11-1996 24-12-1997
7. Md. A.R.Khan 19-01-1998 22-03-2000
8. Mr. Mosharraf Hossain 29-06-2000 28-10-2001
9. Mr. Khondoker Rashidul Huq 23-03-2000 28-06-2000
10. Mr. Md. hedayetul Islam Chowdhury 28-10-2001 27-01-2003
11. Dr. Md. Omar Faruque Khan 04-02-2003 14-01-2004
12. Khan M. Ibrahim Hossin 14-01-2004 08-01-2006
13. Khandaker Rashedul Haque, phd 25-01-2006 01-02-2009
14. Mr.Dr. Nojibur Rahman 01-02-2009 18-05-2009
15. Dr. Zafar Ahmed Khan 16-06-2009 18-03-2010;
16. Mr. Monowar Islam, ndc 30-05-2010 09-12-2012
17. Md. Golam Rabbani 07-02-2013 16-01-2014
18. Md.Raisul Alam Mondal 06-02-2014 30-01-2018
19. Dr. Sultan Ahmed 31-01-2018 23-05-2019
20. Dr. A.K.M. Rafique Ahammed 22-05-2019 24-03-2021
21. Mr.Md. Moniruzzaman(Routine Charge) 25-03-2021 24-05-2021
22. Mr. Md. Ashraf Uddin 25-05-2021 27-01-2022
23. Dr. Abdul Hamid 02-02-2022 -